Delight of the Day

Today after work, I was talking with two coworkers, when in the course of our conversation one said she can not run on flat ground. When I asked what that meant, she said it’s because of a titanium rod in one of her legs. I immediately started grinning, and exclaimed, “Awesome! So you’re a cyborg! I’m a big fan of cyborgs! They are the future,” and then I gave her a high five. So that was pretty much the greatest thing ever: a high five for someone being a cyborg.

A related delight came to me later: we can’t tell who is a cyborg by looking at them. The future will be easier than anyone expects. It will be normal. Hell, this is the future. I work with a cyborg.

Afterward I walked west and discovered how easy the park is to walk across, and how beautiful a thing it is to walk across the park at midday. There’s no better vantage point to marvel at the blessings of our modern, cosmopolitan world. An observation: some people would do well to stop running so much.

1 Comment

Filed under beauty, it's the future, new york city, technology

One response to “Delight of the Day

  1. Pingback: It’s The Future: Myoelectric Mitchell « This Joyful Noise

Leave a comment